Quantcast
  • Pin It

Ridley's Scott's Forever War Gets A Writer In All You need Is Kill's D.W. Harper

Posted by:

Posted by: Staff
created 11/27/2012 - 11:11pm, updated 11/27/2012 - 11:27pm

Body

4310 Fans of Guardians of the Galaxy and Vance Astro should like this one, if you are already not familiar with The Forever War.

The Forever War is a science-fiction novel by Joe Haldeman that was put out in 1974 that sees a group of highly intelligent elite soldiers battling an alien enemy in deep space only to return home to find it vastly changed. They travel through black holes with their return trip resulting in time displacement leaving the soldiers virtually alone in this new and unfamiliar world. The story centers on Mandella, who becomes the oldest surviving soldier of war.

Turns out that The Forever War is a favorite of Aliens and Prometheus director Ridley Scott, who has recently acquired the rights and asked the writer on Tom Cruise's own science-fiction movie, All You need Is Kill, to pen the script, D.W. Harper.

There is no release date as the project is still in the works and hopes to see the light-of-day soon.

(Via Deadline)

Here's the full description for The Forever War from Amazon:

The monumental Hugo and Nebula award winning SF classic-- Featuring a new introduction by John Scalzi

The Earth's leaders have drawn a line in the interstellar sand--despite the fact that the fierce alien enemy they would oppose is inscrutable, unconquerable, and very far away.  A reluctant conscript drafted into an elite Military unit, Private William Mandella has been propelled through space and time to fight in the distant thousand-year conflict; to perform his duties and do whatever it takes to survive the ordeal and return home.  But "home" may be even more terrifying than battle, because, thanks to the time dilation caused by space travel, Mandella is aging months while the Earth he left behind is aging centuries...

 
 

Comments

Subscribe